The Turkish Society for Electron Microscopy was founded in 1971 in İstanbul, Turkey. The president of the first  executive committee was Prof. Dr. Türkan ERBENGİ.

The Society with 474 members aims to unite all the electron microscopists both in biological and material sciences in Turkey. The main objective of the Society is to support and maintain the professional relations among the members to encourage scientific studies, to organize scientific meetings and courses to keep information transfer actual and to keep in touch with well developed foreign electron microscopy centers. 
For these purposes, The Turkish Society for Electron Microscopy has organized 23 biannual national electron microscopy congresses with international participations. In addition, it has participated for the organization of scientific courses and seminars. As an annual activity of the Society, scheduled seminars are organized by experienced turkish and foreign electron microscopists in different sientific centers. 
The Turkish Society for Electron Microscopy has been a member of IFSM (International Federation of Societies of Microscopy), EMS (European Microscopy Society) and IFSHC (International Federation of Societies for Histochemistry and Cytochemistry) since 2001. In recent years, the members of The Turkish Society for Electron Microscopy has an increasing interest in the participation to the congresses organized by these mentioned International Societies.

Prof. Dr. Servet TURAN Ph.D (President)
Eskisehir Technical University
Engineering Faculty
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Phone: 0222 335 05 80 (Domestic line: 6350)
E-Mail : [email protected]